Home » Mind & Body » Essential Oils » Using Essential Oils to Balance Each of the 7 Chakras

Zenorzen.com may earn a commission on sales made from partner links on this page at no added cost to you.

Numerology Personality Traits

Using Essential Oils to Balance Each of the 7 Chakras

Sep 16, 2020

Have you been suffering from bloating and don’t know why? Or maybe you’ve been suffering from frequent headaches coupled with feelings of self-isolation and depression?

If you’re feeling off or out of balance, and you’ve tried so many things to get back to normal, then maybe your Chakras are blocked and hyperactive.

What is Chakra and Why the Need to Balance Them?

Chakras are associated with Hinduism and Buddhism and it is based on the belief that the physical body features seven Chakra Centers that regulate the physical body, the mind, and the spirit.

The belief is that these Chakra Centers each involve a certain energy that flows throughout the other Centers and if one of them is blocked or hyperactive, then corresponding negative manifestations in our mind, body, and spirit occur.

Chakra balancing is the process of using tools and techniques to remove blockages, so that the energies can flow freely throughout the Chakra system.

The Sanskirt translation of Chakra is “Wheel,” and the belief that all the Centers must be cleaned and balanced so that the energies flow freely throughout the body is the key to overall well-being.

There are many ways to clear the Chakra centers, and one of them is using essential oils and applying them to the specific Chakra locations to bring about cleansing and other benefits.

Essential Oils and Chakras

The influence of aromatic plant extracts on the mind, body, and spirit is practiced in aromatherapy. This practice can also be adapted to Chakra healing to promote balanced Chakra functioning.

The idea is to place these essential oils to the location of the Chakra centers, so they are able to energize and release the blockages.

Here are the Seven Chakra Centers and the Essential Oils that Can Help Balance Them:

1. The Root Chakra

The Root Chakra is located on the base of the spine or the tailbone. It is associated with grounding, stability, stillness, security, and a sense of safety.

In terms of the physical body, it is associated with the spine, the legs, the feet, the colon, and the adrenal glands. Any health issues with these parts of the body may be caused by a blockage in the Root Chakra.

You can apply Patchouli to your Root Chakra, which helps to overcome fatigue and feeling down. The oil can also help you enjoy being alone with yourself, and giving you a feeling of self-contentment, relaxation, and the confidence to achieve your goals.

Nutmeg is also an ideal oil to counteract a sluggies Root Chakra.

2. The Sacral Chakra

The Sacral Chakra is located on the lower abdomen, below the navel. It is associated with vitality, self-gratification, passion, and the reproductive organs. It is also connected with the urinary function, and circulation.

A balanced Sacral Chakra brings about emotional intelligence, sexual satisfaction, passion, and the ability to enjoy pleasure.

The essential oil Neroli brings about the energy of pure love and lightness to your being. It helps you embrace change, drive away sorrow, and gives you a feeling of calm and stillness. It is also known to help heal from trauma and abuse, sadness, and fosters hope.

Ylang Ylang is another essential oil that’s great for blockages in the Sacral Chakra, as it helps you relax, cleanses your blood, and is a powerful aphrodisiac and antidepressant.

3. The Solar Plexus Chakra

The Solar Plexus is located on the upper abdomen and is associated with the digestive system, metabolism, pancreas, liver, spleen, tomach, and lower back muscles.

A balanced Solar Plexus brings about warmth, confidence, self-discipline, and a positive sense of self.

The essential oil of Pine is ideal for Solar Plexus blockages as it helps to release hurts and pains from old wounds, helping you move on and more forward.

Cardamom is another essential oil ideal for this Chakra, as it helps in motivation, encouragement, and confidence.

4. The Heart Chakra

The Heart Chakra is the fourth Chakra and located in the middle of the chest and associated with self-love, contentment, compassion, acceptance, and peacefulness.

It is also associated with the lymph glands, the heart, the lungs, skin, arms, circulation, and the immune system.

Rosewood is the ideal oil for the Heart Chakra as it promotes free-flowing emotions, harmony of your thoughts, and helps you to express yourself. It will also alleviate feelings of jealousy, calmness in the midst of grief, and helps you become centered. Palmarosa and Sweet Marjoram are also ideal oils for the Heart Chakra.

5. The Throat Chakra

The Throat Chakra is located on the throat and associated with communication, expression of emotions, and thoughts. The thyroid gland, esophagus, neck, shoulders, arms, and hearing are associated with the Chakra.

A balanced Throat Chakra provides you with better communication skills, good listening skills, and the ability to express yourself.

Lavender is a great essential oil for blockages in the Throat Chakra as it helps to encourage you to share your gifts with the world, heals feelings of being withdrawn, fear, and promotes spiritual growth.

Eucalyptus is also ideal for the Throat Chakra as it is mostly used in throat and nose problems.

6. The Third Eye Chakra

The Third Eye Chakra is found on the forehead, between the eyebrows. It is associated with the pituitary glands, the left eye and nose, the left brain hemisphere, and the endocrine system.

A balanced Third Eye Chakra provides you with self-reflection, knowledge, a strong intuition, good memory, ability to visualize, and a guiding vision for life.

Sandalwood is a great oil for the Third Eye Chakra. It is a grounding essential oil and commonly used by spiritual leaders and healers for its ability to help you communicate with your higher self.

Sandalwood is also known to help you gain better processing of your deepest thoughts, and breaks down illusions.

7. The Crown Chakra

The seventh Chakra is the Crown Chakra, located on the crown of your head. It is associated with self-knowledge, self-will, and divine connection.

The pineal gland, pituitary glands, cerebral cortex, and the right brain hemisphere are connected with the Crown Chakra.

A balanced Crown Chakra means you have better control of your thoughts, you are more connected with your consciousness, as well as your spiritual self.

Lime is a great essential oil to unblock the Crown Chakra as it helps in energetic cord cutting and detachment. It enhances your perception of the truth, and releases any illusions you may have.

Frankincense also helps to oxygenate the pineal gland, enables easier access to your deeper wisdom, and improves your analytical skills.

Related: Select the right chakra stone!


Essential oils and chakras can work together to help improve whatever state you may be in right now, in terms of your thoughts, emotions, as well as certain physical issues.

The Chakra Centers in your body need frequent cleansing to help energy centers flow freely and smoothly. Aside from healing crystals, meditation, yoga, and other forms of holistic healing (e.g. Theta and Reiki healing), essential oils can be integrated into your lifestyle to promote enhanced energy flow in your body.

However, it must be noted that these are for informational purposes only and do not have any scientific evidence of effectiveness. They are an alternative form of healing to supplement other therapies or treatments that you may have.

Talk to Love Psychic

Writer Emma

Editor Judy Nyssa

Join Free Psychic Chat

Get free psychic reading.


Daily Numerology

Date of birth numerology

Free Psychic Chat

Pin It on Pinterest